Hospital Gown pattern review

Lazies, A member of the website Pattern Review recently posted a very nice review of our free hospital gown pattern.  You can find the review here.

Pattern Review logo

Once at the review, click on the little tiny image of a green camera near the top to see a picture of the gown.

I love the Pattern Review site.  I’ve been a member for years.  A basic membership is free, otherwise known as creating a user name and password.  A ‘Friends of PR’ paid membership offers some nice benefits such as participating in expert chats, etc.  Visit Pattern Review and take a look around.  PR hosts a wealth of information and resources from real people like me and you, for anyone who sews. I love PR’s contests and have sponsored a couple of them.

I love the pattern reviews because, as a pattern designer, I get to read terrific feedback about my products as well as other company’s products.  The reviews are like interviews with the person who made the project.  This unfiltered, honest, frank feedback is invaluable to me, whether it’s about my products or not.

Okay, back to our hospital gown pattern.  This pattern has been available on our website since March of 2005, I believe.  Our site statistics show that this pattern is viewed/downloaded an average of 1,000 times a month.  That number amazes me and it also tells me how much of a need there is for this item.  Rosie’s Calico Cupbard in San Diego, CA, includes a link to the pattern in its very popular newsletter – Thank You Rosie!  Sew News magazine has mentioned the pattern in a number of issues this year.  I am completely okay with that, and a big Thank You to Sew News!

 Sew News making connections May 2006 Sew News August 2006 Giving Back column

Click on the image above, to the left, to read the Making Connections column from May 2006. To the left is the cover of the August issue where our hospital gown pattern was profiled in the ‘Giving Back’ column.

Rita of Creations SewClever in Chillicothe, OH, (hospital gown cohort and designer) and I are working on another hospital gown pattern for children that will contain three sizes. We started on it a while ago, then something didn’t look right with the sizing so we are putting our heads together later this month to see if we can figure out what the heck we are doing.  I will keep you posted.

Joan
Lazy Girl Designs

Images courtesy of www.PatternReview.com and Primedia.

Leave a Lazy Comment





6 Responses to “Hospital Gown pattern review”

  1. Pat Elsner — March 12, 2007 @ 11:58 am

    Joan: I am so looking forward to the Hospital Gown pattern for children. There is absolutely nothing available for this age group. We have had to alter some commercial patterns so far and your pattern would certainly be an asset to those of us who enjoy charitable sewing.

    Pat Elsner
    – – – – –
    Hi Pat,
    The children’s gown is in the works! I plan to post about the gown project in the next few weeks.
    Joan

  2. Michelle Bunce — April 7, 2007 @ 9:13 pm

    Joan,
    I am eagarly awaiting this pattern also. My son will be having surgery, and would love to make him a gown, or 2. Thank you for providing such a resource. I’ll check back soon, please hurry :)
    Michelle

  3. Tessie — December 1, 2007 @ 11:36 am

    Thank you for posting the hospital gown pattern. I searched hi and low, but couldn’t find a suitable hospital gown for my mother, who has end-stage Alzheimer’s. I haven’t sewn since high school, but your pattern was easy and simple. I was able to alterate it so that it suited her needs and ended up making her 10 cheery gowns. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  4. Jacqueline — December 7, 2009 @ 4:10 pm

    Hi,
    I am a nurse in my local PICU and recently my co-workers and I have come across your website while searching for patterns for one of our little ones. We just wanted to thank you for posting it! I’ve made 5 now and love them :) So does our little one. I altered it a little bit to have less of a V neck. I couldn’t figure out how to post pictures but if you’d like them, let me know! Thanks again :)
    Jacqueline

  5. tesha morgan — July 28, 2010 @ 9:12 pm

    DOES ANY ONE HAVE A PICTURE OF A COMPLETED HOSPITAL GOWN?